Legal Question in Criminal Law in Ohio

If someone is being arraigned (brought in from jail), and gives a statement in front of the judge without the opportunity to obtain a lawyer and his right to stay silent has not been stated, can the court legally take his statement into consideration and use it against him?

Asked on 2/20/19, 3:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph Jacobs Jacobs & Lowder

Most likely that statement would be suppressed. Hopefully the presiding judge is different from the arraignment judge. Write or call me with any other questions.

Read more
Answered on 2/20/19, 3:30 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Ohio