Legal Question in Entertainment Law in Ohio

screenplay adaptation

Hi, here is my situation:

I found a short story that I wish to adapt to a screenplay. I found the author owns the rights, so I emailed him, and he responded that I had his permission, and that we could come to a more formal agreement once there was production money in the picture. Should I go ahead and write the adaptation, or get a legal agreement now? How can I pursue an agreement, or do I need to let a lawyer or maybe an agent do it?

Thanks very much.

Asked on 7/12/03, 8:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph Jacobs Jacobs & Lowder

Re: screenplay adaptation

Get the author's permission now in writing.

Call me directly:

Joe Jacobs 216-952-1990 / 216-227-0900

Read more
Answered on 7/12/03, 9:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in Ohio