Legal Question in Medical Leave in Ohio

Pregnant on Medical Leave and fired???

I am currently 33 weeks pregnant and high risk (which my employer knew about before getting pregnant as I have a history of miscarriages). At around 20 weeks I was placed on bedrest for dizziness and some other pregnancy related issues. My company in Ohio has less than 30 employees, however the owning company in MN has over 200 employees and they felt they should extend the protection of FMLA to our small company as well. So I signed and had my DR fill out the FMLA request and everything was fine for the first 12 weeks of the medical leave. I got a phone call from HR in MN saying that they generally did not approve leaves over 12 weeks (this was NOT told to me in the beginning in fact my supervisor here in OH didn't even know of that). So after a week of waiting I received another phone call from HR saying that right now they would not approve a leave longer than 12 weeks and since I was on medical leave before being let go I still qualified to get my STD pay. They also told me that after having the baby and being released from the DR I was welcome to reapply to see if a position was available at that time because they said I was a good employee. Is this legal when being on a DR approved medical leave to be fired? Need advise???

Asked on 7/01/09, 11:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dan Guinn Guinn Law Firm, LLC

Re: Pregnant on Medical Leave and fired???

It definitely sounds like you need an attorney to assist you with your problem. I would be more than happy to help. Please feel free to contact me for a free consultation.

Read more
Answered on 7/02/09, 8:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in Ohio