Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Ohio

My daughter's father's company he worked for moved to Mexico from Ohio approximately two years ago. He did not relocate so he was receiving unemployment. He passed away last week. He had life insurance and a retirement through this employment. Is the company obligated to turn either his life insurance or retirement over to his daughter as the heir or did they disappear upon his layoff? He received no monies from either source when he was laid off.

Asked on 5/07/10, 7:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elizabeth Schmitz Elizabeth S. Schmitz Attorney at Law

You should contact the company where he worked and see if your daugher is entitled to any benefits.

Read more
Answered on 5/12/10, 9:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Ohio