Legal Question in Business Law in Oklahoma

I recieved a year end sale flyer from an auto dealership. With it was a promo credit card with a scratch off number that would qualify the addressee only for a number of prizes, the top prize being $10,000. The numbers revealed same as the promo card stating I won the $10k. I visited the dealership, the salesman took my flyer, entered the number in his computer system, and handed me a lotto ticket which was one of the lesser prizes from the flyer. He stated I would have to purchase a vehicle then they could active the promo credit card and "see" what amount I had won. I thought it was illegal to offer contest prizes that required purchase, or did they get around that by handing me the lotto ticket? I read the entire flyer and no where did it state a purchase was required. Suzanne Y

Asked on 12/30/10, 2:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

If the information contained on the flyer does not indicate that a purchase is required then this is false advertisement and other illegal behavior that should be reported.

Read more
Answered on 1/04/11, 9:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Oklahoma