Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Oklahoma

Family Trust Liability

My parents assets were put in a family trust, for 4 siblings. My father has sinced passed and Mom is not mentally capable anymore. Some of the money was used fm the trust to start a business for my 2 brothers, initially as a C-Corp. They recently changed it to an S-Corp at the recommendation of their accountant to help out on income taxes to the trust. Question is, are they putting the remainder of the family trust at risk with either a failed business or law suit. The balance of the initial loan will be paid off next year.

Asked on 10/10/05, 12:35 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Peter Bradie Bradie, Bradie & Bradie

Re: Family Trust Liability

If all that's been done is borrow money from the trust to start a business, then the only risk to the trust is that the loan may not be repaid.

Read more
Answered on 10/10/05, 10:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Oklahoma