Legal Question in Elder Law in Oregon

My father is eighty and has for the past year been in an assisted living facility on Medicaid. My mother is selling the house, which she transferred into her name, and wants to move into the retirement side of the facility. Medicaid told her she has to put the proceeds of the house sale into an irrevocable trust with her as sole beneficiary. Why does she need a trust?

Asked on 7/29/11, 10:10 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bonnie Popia Proctor & Popia, LLC

She does not need a trust but it might be a good idea.

She should contact an attorney to discuss her options.

It could save her a substantial sum of money in the long run.

Read more
Answered on 7/29/11, 10:29 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Oregon