Legal Question in Elder Law in Pennsylvania

My mother was in a nursing home for 6 months before she died. Never did I receive any bill or notice that something was not paid. She had very good insurance, but no assets. I applied for Medicaid and it was granted. Medicare, Medicaid and my mother's social security was paid to the home and since her death, I have been receiving bills for unpaid charges. The latest was from a lawyer who is threatening to sue me, though the letter is addressed to my mother in care of me. However, neither the home nor the lawyer have provided me with an accounting of charges or proven to me what is actually owed. What are my legal rights?


Asked on 4/27/10, 7:25 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Jackson Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.

It does not appear that they can sue you but they maybe able to sue your mother's estate. I suggested speaking with a probate attorney in your county, especially if your mother's estate had any assets.

Read more
Answered on 5/02/10, 7:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania