Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Pennsylvania

I am researching the nuances surrounding the ownership rights of art donated to a public building. If something is given to a permanent collection, can it ever be sold or moved? There is no real documentation or contract. Are there some reference works that can help me figure this out?

Asked on 4/17/12, 4:00 pm

2 Answer from Attorneys

Gerry Elman Elman Technology Law, P.C.

There are several books on Art Law. Look for the 3-volume set by Lerner & Bressler, for example.

Also see the Supreme Court decision in the case called Community for Creative Nonviolence v. Reid.

Read more
Answered on 4/17/12, 4:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Pennsylvania