Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Pennsylvania

I own an antique/art gallery in Hawley, PA and have been leasing the building for three years so far. On Friday my landlord told me the property is going on the market for sale as of today (3 days notice). This morning I got an email from saying I must give him and the realtor my access codes for the security system so it can be shown off hours. I own thousands of dollars of merchandise and also have thousands of dollars of consigned merchandise for which I am responsible. I am very reluctant to give my security codes to a realtor, not knowing where they will be given or to whom. Must I release my security codes?

My thanks,

Thomas Morrow

Dorchester House Antiques


Asked on 7/16/18, 10:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Davidson Law Office of John A. Davidson

It would depend on what your lease says should happen if the landlord wants to sell. With out reading your lease . I would thnk a prospective buyer would rthr see your premises when you're open.


Read more
Answered on 7/17/18, 6:19 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Pennsylvania