Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Pennsylvania

A friend in Pennsylvania told his landlord that he can not pay the rent this month. She said nasty things and said she will padlock his place. My understanding is that one day after the rent is due, she must post a notice on his door, and after 10 days she schedules a hearing with a district magistrate who then grants a judgment and sets a move out date, usually 10 days or more after the hearing. 1) is this accurate for the eviction process, and 2) what can he do if she padlocks his rental? Thanks

Asked on 12/05/18, 10:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Davidson Law Office of John A. Davidson

The landlord can't padlock or changes the locks that would be a self help eviction. Which isn't allow, your description is close the can post as notice 1 day afer the end of the grace period.


Read more
Answered on 12/05/18, 11:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Pennsylvania