Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Pennsylvania

I have been renting a house since January. I'm subletting from someone else, but they signed their lease over to me. My lease ends July 31. Just a few days ago, I noticed a few ants. There aren't many, but they are in all of the rooms and they are HUGE and they keep going to the most undesirable places, like my bed. I called an exterminator just to get a quote and he explained that they are carpenter ants and most likely living inside the walls (its an older house so its likely their nests are there). I can't sleep here, and I want out of my lease so I can find somewhere that isn't infested. What are my options? Can I get out of the lease without penalty? What is the landlord's obligation? Thank you.

Asked on 5/06/12, 1:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Davidson Law Office of John A. Davidson

Have you told the landlord? Maybe he wants them (ants) out of there and will get the exterminator in there soon. So call your landlord.


Read more
Answered on 5/07/12, 6:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Pennsylvania