Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Pennsylvania

I was in a domestic partnership that recently ended. We own a home together, meaning we are both listed in the deed, and we have decided to sell our home. My ex recently contacted a friend of ours whom is a lawyer and hired her to help us execute the sale of our property. Our friend, whom is now his lawyer recently contacted me and proposed that we appoint her power of attorney over the sale of our home. She stated that it would allow her to sign on our behalf and would make the process much smoother and would help expedite the process. We also have a document that state the proceeds from the sale of our home will first be used to pay off the balance of our mortgage and then any remaining proceeds will be distributed between the two of us equally. Is there anything I should be concerned about in signing over POA to our friend, especially since she is my ex’s lawyer?

Asked on 7/25/19, 10:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Davidson Law Office of John A. Davidson


Read more
Answered on 7/26/19, 5:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Pennsylvania