Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Pennsylvania

My husband died unexpectedly leaving several creditors in his name only. I contacted all of them - his credit card is contacting by letter "The Estate of ____". There is no "estate:. no bank account marked that only our joint chkg. and savings. They want to find person who has authority to pay outstanding bills of his. It is my understanding I am not responsible since it was name only. Right? Also, another letter came from a Debt Protection processing center, not naming who their client is, saying they processed a credit to the account of little over $100.00. Assuming that went to creditor. Big one is, a check came from a Global client Solutions, again, no idea who their client is, payable to him, for little over $500.00. That is almost my whole rent and was hoping to use it for March's rent. Am I ok for that, not knowing who their client is. They say is was a reques5t for withdrawal. I contacted them, saying he was deceased, ok to cash this, they said yes. I was told by bank to mark his name, then deceased.

Last one is another letter came from a Ascension Point Recovery Services asking who is responsible for paying outstanding bills from his estate, It does state family members are not personally responsible for payment of any outstanding bills and are not requir3ed to pay individually or with assets owned jointly with the decedent. This applies to credit card also? Again, no estate, bank told me account has to be marked as estate of.

Thank you for your help.

Asked on 2/05/18, 4:44 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Davidson Law Office of John A. Davidson

If the accounts are in his name. They get whatever the estate might pay. YOU are NOT to pay ANYTHING,. Time to gosee a flesh and blood attorney.


Read more
Answered on 2/05/18, 6:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Pennsylvania