Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Rhode Island

I have a Federal Student Loan.

If I marry will my husband have to share the repayment of my loan because of his income?

Asked on 7/22/09, 7:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Staff General Counsel LawyersCollaborative

Generally no.

Marriage does not convert your individual debt to a joint debt for which you and your husband would both be liable.

Read more
Answered on 8/03/09, 5:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Rhode Island