Legal Question in Criminal Law in Rhode Island

Last summer, my 18 year old college bound son, made up for lost time being a "good child" and him and his friends ended up on the wrong end of the law on several occasions. The long and short, my son was given a year of house arrest ( and he go to work and school but couldn't live on campus). However, the Judge set a review date for 2/26/2017 for the case. The court clerk told me she couldn't answer any legal questions and the public defender he had is out on maternity leave, but all I want to know is if there is a possibility that a the judge will reduce his sentence at this review and if not what is the review for?

Asked on 2/06/18, 3:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Staff General Counsel LawyersCollaborative

A review typically is simply to confirm that your son is abiding by the terms imposed by the court. Your defense lawyer and prosecutor may discuss a disposition, as well, at that hearing.

Good luck,


Read more
Answered on 2/06/18, 4:01 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Rhode Island