Legal Question in Traffic Law in South Carolina

Auto Incident

If my friend was driving my car and ran into a bush and the police officers made an incident report about it, but gave no ticket at the time, can the officer give out a ticket the next day for the incident that occured the night before?

Asked on 2/16/08, 3:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Johnston Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston

Re: Auto Incident

Although tickets are usually writen on the spot, there is no law that requires the police to write them immediately. They are allowed to issue a ticket the next day.

Read more
Answered on 2/16/08, 3:30 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in South Carolina