Legal Question in Workers Comp in South Carolina

Employer didn't pay medical expenses from on job injury

About 1 1/2 years ago, I burned myself from the cooking grease while working at Wal-mart. I went to the hospital after I got off and received treatment. Burns weren't major or permanently scarring. However, they determined that the accident was caused because they didn't have proper equipment to be working near the grease. They said they would take care of medical expenses and I returned all the paperwork to them I was given. I asked several times about it and they assured me that it would get done although no one had taken any steps yet in paying them. I quit working there several months later for unrelated reasons and it still wasn't taken care of. I called approximately 1 month after I quit because I was still getting bills from the hospital, and again was assured that they would take care of it. The bill was only for about $300.00, but now it is still unpaid and has greatly hurt my credit rating because it has been turned over to a collection agency. What can I do to resolve this matter and is it possible to be compensated for the fact that they ruined my credit? Thanks

Asked on 7/01/04, 5:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Johnston Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston

Re: Employer didn't pay medical expenses from on job injury

Call the Workers Compensation Commission and speak with the Compliance department.

Read more
Answered on 7/01/04, 8:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in South Carolina