Legal Question in Business Law in Tennessee

Dear Sir

I sold my golf magazine almost 8 years ago and signed a non-compete agreement for 10 years. The man who bought the mag has not published an issue nor updated his website in 15 months. I have interest in starting a new publication for golf & tennis with a new name. Also, as a 12-year member of the Golf Writers Association of America, I contribute to 3 different golf magazines from time to time for no pay to keep my status with the GWAA. My attorney told me I could go forward as he says I am not competing with him and the agreeement is null. So the question is: does writing an occasional article for no pay in violation of my non compete and can I start a new magazine and win should we go to court.

We are in Tennessee. Please reply.

Johnny Lyon

Asked on 9/04/09, 12:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Crone Crone & McEvoy, PLC

Ask your lawyer.

Read more
Answered on 9/04/09, 12:38 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Tennessee