Legal Question in Criminal Law in Tennessee

misdemeanor theft charge and consequences

my daughter 21, was arrested for theft of $120, 1st offense of any kind. money was given back at time of arrest, he filed charges anyway. what can she expect as far as punishment, and does she need a lawyer?

Asked on 10/11/06, 11:43 am

2 Answers from Attorneys

Jes Beard Jes Beard, Attorney at Law

Re: misdemeanor theft charge and consequences

If it is handled properly she should be able to keep the case off of her record entirely, and do no jail time, though possibly doing some public works days, doing something such as picking up trash along the roads. If it is NOT handled right she will end up with a misdemeanor conviction for theft, remaining on her record forever, possibly doing a few months in the county jail on a sentence of 11 months and 29 days, and having that record effect her prospect of getting a job for the rest of her life.

Does she need an attorney? I wouldn't want a relative of mine to go to court without one in such a situation.

Read more
Answered on 10/11/06, 11:51 am

David Heroux Haymaker & Heroux P.C.

Re: misdemeanor theft charge and consequences

Your daughter absolutely needs a lawyer.

A theft of property of $500.00 or less is a “Class A Misdemeanor” and is punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.00. In addition, a conviction would be on her record for the rest of her life and could be used to increase her sentence if she gets in trouble in the future. Further, she could lose job or other opportunities in the future due to having such an offense on her record.

Simply put, this is serious and needs to be handled by an attorney. Many such cases can be resolved without a conviction. However, all cases are different. Without question, your daughter needs a lawyer.

Please review my website at “” and if you or she would like to discuss her case and representation, please contact me at toll free number provided on the website or email me at [email protected]

Read more
Answered on 10/11/06, 12:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Tennessee