Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Texas

Spouse Filing

My wife has considerable personal CC debt and medical bills and is unable to work due to cancer, treatment and surgery.

Can she file for chapter 7 bankruptcy and declare 0 income, or would my income figure into the means test?

Asked on 7/10/08, 1:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alex Wathen Wathen & Associates

Re: Spouse Filing

The non-filing spouse's income is counted in the means test, but the portion that does not go to household expenses can be excluded.


Read more
Answered on 7/10/08, 6:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Texas