Legal Question in Business Law in Texas

How can I get around the gaming laws in Texas, and start a legal poker room?

I am trying to find how to legally open a poker room in Austin, Texas. I believe if I make a non-profit corporation that runs the poker room and also open a private charity that gets all of my profits I should be able to. Since it does cover all three of he defenses of section 47.04 (1) the gambling occurred in a private place; (2) no person received any economic benefit other than personal winnings; and (3) except for the advantage of skill or luck, the risks of losing and the chances of winning were the same for all participants. I also relise I would have to find a inventive way to pay my employees since I inturpret the law as they can not benifit from working for me also. If you have any insite I would love to hear it.


Asked on 9/15/10, 12:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

R Gary Stephens Stephens & Stephens

Call Skyler Stephens at (512) 328-9999. She should be able to help.

Read more
Answered on 10/06/10, 6:25 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Texas