Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Texas

We had taken a title loan out on our vehicle and it was getting to where since we hadn't paid it they were going to come and take our car. We asked our landlord if we could borrow the money from him to pay off the title loan people. He gave us a personal loan to pay them and added interest to it and drew up a paper that stated the loan was for the car. He made us give him the title, HOWEVER, we DID NOT sign the title over to him. Now because we are behind on payments he thinks he has the right to repossess the car. I don't think he does since technically he does not have a lien on the car, and this was a personal loan. Can you please advice?

Asked on 1/09/14, 8:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

The only way that one can take a lien on a car is to have it recorded on the title document itself - it has to be "registered." If that didn't happen, then he doesn't have a lien on the vehicle.

Read more
Answered on 1/10/14, 3:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Texas