Legal Question in Consumer Law in Texas

I received a credit letter from a credit agency in SC I am in Texas. The letter stated I owed 1k dollars. I have no outstanding debt that I know off and I do not recognize the company they state I owe the money to. My credit rating is 881. The letter states that the age limit has been reached and they cannot sue me or report it to my credit agency.

I honestly donít know what this is I had a large operation over 400k that was taken care off by my ins company all out of pocket where paid co pays etcetera

Q: It says that I have 30 days to notify them that I dispute it or they will assume I owe it. I would like to find out what company is saying I owe this and what for the one that is listed I have no knowledge off. I am wondering if I write them back and dispute it is that an acknowledgement of a liability (debt) and I will legally reset the time limit clock to zero.

My operation (claim) started Dec 2010. I can only assume that with all the bills some provider messed up and is now selling off some debt they did not collect properly from the ins company to a collection agency. But since they say they cant sue or report it to a credit agency because of the time limit should I not acknowledge it at all. All claims would have had to been paid with in 90 days of billing. I have never received any outstanding request from any med provider for any amount in the last 2 Ĺ years. Its not a huge amount but I have been out of work for 3 years.

Thanks


Asked on 4/16/13, 9:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Ignore this weird letter. Ignore their time limits. Don't respond to them. And don't let it worry you.

Read more
Answered on 4/17/13, 2:56 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Texas