Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Texas

I live in Texas and I was contacted by a collection agency (ARS) that bought my debt from an old JC Penney credit card. He stated that I will be served the following day with papers because they were suing me for 8,000.00 He said they sent a letter 2 months ago, saying they would reduce the debt to 4,000.00 wich I never received. He said that starting Friday 6-5-15 our bank account will be froze an 35% wage garnishment from my husband s check. Also a lien will be put on our car and home. I still haven't received any papers saying I've been sued. Can they do this on Friday even though I haven't been served, and is this legal?


Asked on 6/04/15, 3:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Adam Kielich The Kielich Law Firm

Not only can they not do the things they threatened to do but it is illegal for a collection agency to threaten some of those actions. Talk to a consumer law attorney ASAP.

Read more
Answered on 6/24/15, 2:56 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Texas