Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Texas

My question is in regard to paycheck garnishment and my employer not forwarding those payments to the company who holds the loan. The garnishment started June 1, 2006 and was paid on a weekly basis until December of 2011. After that date months would go by without a payment being received even though it continued to come out of my check every week. According to the company that holds the loan, every month a payment was not received from my employer they would report negatively to my personal credit rating. Do I have any legal recourse in this matter? Could legal action restore any negative impact this has had on my credit?

Asked on 4/02/14, 2:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Texas law doesn't allow garnishment of a paycheck for an ordinary debt. Did you volunteer for this - sign an agreement regarding wage garnishment?

Was this an income tax debt? Child support?

Read more
Answered on 4/02/14, 4:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Texas