Legal Question in Education Law in Texas

My Question: Can a school district/school be held accountable for an 8 year old 3rd grade student walking out of the school and leaving the school grounds?

Scenario: My son received a disciplinary letter and was sent to the office. While he was on his way to the office, he was upset at the fact of getting the disciplinary letter and walked out one of the back doors of the school. He walked over half a mile, past a total of 5 school district administration buildings and was found by the local police department over an hour and a half later.

We are getting conflicting stories from all of the parties involved regarding what actually happened, the time line of the whole event and a solution to make sure that this doesn't happen again.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Asked on 11/18/11, 7:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Are you saying that you want to hold the school responsible for something that you child did? Hold them responsible because the school grounds aren't laid out like a prison?

The answer is no.

Read more
Answered on 11/19/11, 9:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Education Law questions and answers in Texas