Legal Question in Health Care Law in Texas

I was seeing a MD who prescribed me Xanax for my anxiety because it can get severe. I'm not an addict and take it as prescribed. My mom put defamation to my character because she complete slandered my name calling my doctor and lying about the consumption of my medicine saying I was an addict. I feel violated that I'm almost 26 and I can't even keep a doctor because she tells my doctors complete lies about me causing me to find other doctors to prescribe me my medication. I thought that doctors have a hippocratic oath in my opinion refusing me my medication is a violation of this oath because my mom is a third party and I feel my rights as a patient have been compromised.

Asked on 4/19/12, 7:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Stop talking to your mother. How does she know what medicines you take? Stop talking to her. Your medications are none of her business.

Write a letter (paper letter) to your doctor and tell him what happened.

Read more
Answered on 4/20/12, 9:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Health Care Law questions and answers in Texas