Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Texas

There is a hot rod garage called Gas Monkey Garage located in Dallas, Texas with a show that is premiering on the Discovery Channel tomorrow night. The name "Gas Monkey Garage" is not incorporated in the state of Texas. Can I legally incorporate that name and then ask them to stop using the name via some kind of copyright infringement law until they buy it from me? Thank you!

Asked on 6/05/12, 7:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

One does not "incorporate" a name. One can list a business name as an assumed name.

You should check the assumed name records in Dallas County. I'd bet you money that "Gas Monkey Garage" is listed as somebody's assumed name.

Read more
Answered on 6/06/12, 6:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Texas