Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Texas

Is it Legal to post scanned images of yearbooks on a social network? There is a woman who has been obsessed with my old high school and has started an unofficial group page for it. she has been getting a hold of yearbooks and scanning them into albums. When I bought my yearbooks it was $50 per year i purchased them. She is offering FREE digital copies. The woman was a foreign exchange student but has been working with an alumni in the states getting these yearbooks scanned and made into albums. Is there any legal action i can take to protect my privacy? I am in these pictures, and my parents are too. Is there a copy right on yearbooks?

Asked on 12/19/10, 12:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Yearbooks usually have a copyright.

You have no expectation of privacy in a yearbook photograph.

Read more
Answered on 12/29/10, 7:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Texas