Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

In my ex-employers policy and procedure manuel, there is a section on continuing education. In that section it says that if the employee terminates their employment before 2 years after the continuing education has been done, the employee is responsible for repayment. It also says that if the LAST paycheck of the employee exceeds the amount of the continuing education, that monthly payments will be made after that to make up for it.

In my case, the continuing education I'm being billed for amounts to over $2,000. I was practically begged to go to these seminars. I had planned on leaving right before Christmas because I was moving to be closer to school since I'm in college. My ex-boss told me I was a "disappointment" and felt she had been "stabbed in the back" and she "regrets hiring" me. After a week of unfair treatment, putdowns, and insults, I left. She took my last TWO paychecks in full, and now expects me to make $250 monthly payments to pay back the amount.

I left early because I could no longer handle the working conditions. It was not only during that week, but for the whole year and a half I worked there that I was put down, insulted, and even slapped at one point. So my question is, since I left because of work conditions and since she didn't hold up to the policy and procedures' manuel by taking my last TWO checks in full, do I even owe her at all for the amount she claims is owed?

Asked on 12/14/10, 3:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

You need to contact the Texas Workforce Commission and file a complaint. Here's their contact information:

Read more
Answered on 12/21/10, 6:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas