Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Texas

My son gave a 30 day notice on May 8th for his apt complex in San Marcos, TX. That is when he received his orders.He is going to an ROTC officers school, so they are allowing him to break the lease due to the fact he is Army contracted.They told him it was not 30 days at June 8th, but they had to make it effective June 1st and then it would be effective June 30th. Is a 30 day notice no longer a 30 day notice? I assumed they would just prorate his apt for the days he stayed.Is that legal?

Asked on 6/09/10, 6:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

TC Langford Langford Law Office

If the lease runs from the 1st to the 30th, then the notice is effective on the 1st. The alternative would be to make the 30-day notice effective July 1 to July 30.

Read more
Answered on 6/10/10, 10:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Texas