Legal Question in Personal Injury in Texas

If a correctional officer beats an inmate unprovoked with a walkie talkie while his hands were up and another officer slammed him after the fact and the inmate was left with a gash on his eyebrow and wasn't able to open his eye does it qualify as de minimis or do we have a case against the officer?There are witnesses writing a statement in the inmates favor.

Asked on 3/19/18, 11:00 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Roger Merrill Merrill & Associates

It is a case; but if the damages are slight (no medical bills - little or no scarring), then it will be hard to find a lawyer to take it on contingency basis. Also hard to find a lawyer interested in an inmate case.

Read more
Answered on 3/22/18, 8:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Texas