Legal Question in Sexual Harassment in Texas

I am a 17 year old and I am dating a 22 year old. My mom says the only reason she wont approve is because she doesn't want them to get in trouble. Is it true that he can get in trouble, or is she just making things up? I live in Texas and i hear the law says at 17 its legal. Then again i also hear that at 17 it is three years difference.

Can some body please clear this confusion up?

Asked on 11/23/11, 11:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

The age of consent in Texas is 17, if by "dating" you mean having sex with your boyfriend. He will not "get in trouble" if he has sex with you.

Read more
Answered on 11/24/11, 7:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Sexual Harassment Law questions and answers in Texas