Legal Question in Social Security Law in Texas

My friend lived with "Bob" for 23 years and they presented themselves as a married couple. "Bob" passed away and he left her some money in his will. "Bob" was the sole financial support of the household for the 23 years. My question is if he was her sole support would she be eligible for social security benefits as a survivor? She was denied by social security dept. Does she need an attorney to help or is it not a matter in which she could prevail? She is in southwest Houston.

Asked on 3/26/10, 11:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.

she may need a they were married UNLESS one of them was married at the time to someone else..tell her to call someone asap

Read more
Answered on 3/31/10, 12:06 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in Texas