Legal Question in Tax Law in Texas

Mandatory tipping... A restaurant has a policy of adding a 15% tip to ALL sales. Question.. If tip amount is 15% of cost of food AND tax .. is that legal ?

Asked on 8/01/23, 1:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

It seems unethical, but not illegal as there are no laws I am aware of which regulate restaurant surcharges for gratuities.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 8/01/23, 2:39 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Texas