Legal Question in Traffic Law in Texas

Does a traffic city ordinace apply even if it is not following stat traffic laws?

My husband was given a traffic citation for driving 33 in a school zone (20mph). The regular limit is 35mph. They school where that school zone is was closed 1 1/2 years ago. It has remained a zone because the school district asked them to leave it on because they hope to open it back up as an alternative school next year. According the the Texas driving laws a school zone much be at a SCHOOL. Can this city ordinance be inforced even though it is NOT a school?

Asked on 11/26/12, 6:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Your husband should plead "not guilty" and demand a jury trial. If the prosecutor is stupid enough to push for a full trial, he'll look like an idiot.

Read more
Answered on 11/27/12, 5:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Texas