Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

My father died in 1972 in Texas. He was survived by 2 biological children and 2 stepchildren. His estate was settled and the blended family went their separate ways. The stepmother never adopted my fathers biological children. My stepmother sold the house and bought another. No money went to the biological children. In 2013 the stepmother died. The school tax authority in Potter and Randall County has now summoned the biological children to pay for back taxes on the home the long gone step mother bought after their fathers death. Are they liable for the stepmothers tax lien on the house?

Asked on 12/30/13, 6:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

No, they are not liable.

Read more
Answered on 12/31/13, 3:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas