Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

Hi, I live in the houston area texas and I was wondering if the common laws of marriage applys to gay couples. For example, if my partner moved in with me and helped with the bills could he later come back for half of my assets if things don't work out? I know texas doesn't recognize gay marriage but not sure of how all that works.. Thanx!

Asked on 1/09/13, 6:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Currently, the state of Texas does not recognize "gay marriage," formal or informal.

Read more
Answered on 1/10/13, 5:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas