Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

medicare bill $5800

My mother in-law recently passed and left her house to my wife in her will. The house is free and clear and worth 100k. We have not probated the will. Medicare has sent us a bill of $5800 for a stay she had in a nursing home. Is there any recourse to paying Medicare the $5800? I just want to be sure that they have the undeniable right to the funds or is this a home run swing. The letter also stated that they would initiate probate if we did not in a short period of time. Again true or not.


Asked on 1/30/09, 8:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Doug McCullough Phillips & Reiter

Re: medicare bill $5800

Yes. Creditors are interested parties who may initiate probate in certain circumstances.

Read more
Answered on 1/30/09, 9:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas