Legal Question in Workers Comp in Texas

Recently a self-employed man who was doing work on my house, fell and injured his back. It seems that he is trying to pin the liability on me by making it sound like a casual injure on my property instead of a work related injure which occurred on my property. He asked me to say that he was only on my property to give advice on the situation and that he was not here to fulfill the agreements of our contract. He informed me after the accident that he does not have workers comp and that his wife's insurance may not cover it because it was a work related injury. He also asked me to lie about the situation so it seems that the injury was not work related which would help him when dealing with the insurance. He also asked me to tear up our contract that we made for the work he started on my house and told me that the contract wasnt really valid. If his insurance denies the claim, does he have a legal right to try and collect payment from me?

Asked on 5/30/10, 5:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

a. Don't commit insurance fraud. Don't lie for this man.

b. You probably are NOT liable for his injuries - not unless there was some extremely dangerous situation that you didn't warn him about, or unless you deliberately hurt him.

Read more
Answered on 5/31/10, 4:41 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in Texas