Legal Question in Immigration Law in United Kingdom

Dear Solicitor

I got HSMP Approval Letter and entry clearance in 2005 and came to the UK on HSMP visa for one year and stayed for a year and was also economically active.

Due to policy changes in April/Nov 2006 regarding future extension criteria & and residence requirement for ILR being increased from 4 to 5 years, I felt discouraged and did not severe my bonds with my home country and left the UK in Sept 2006.( One year stay ) though I had extension granted FLR till 2010.

Later I visited the UK in 2007 for 40 days and could not get a job. Then I visited in 2010 for 3 months and applied for extension under the policy document HSMP Judicial review 2008 and was granted FLR till 2013.

I still intend to live in the UK and will stay in 2012-13 for 8-10 months and will try to be economically active.

Q1. Will I get future extensions under the said Policy Document HSMP Judicial review 2008 that says future extensions will be granted?

Q 2. Am/ were I eligible for ILR permanent residence? (from Sept 2009 or subsequently)

It is also promised in the policy that those applying only for FLR will be invited to vary their application if they were otherwise fit cases for granting ILR under the Policy Document & HSMP Judicial Review read with IDI suggests deemed presence in the UK as a result of Policy changes.

I will be grateful if you kindly advice me on the matter and my immigration rights in the UK as per Policy under HSMP Judicual reviews.

Asked on 7/26/12, 5:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brian D. Lerner Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation


You will need an immigration attorney from the UK to answer this.

Read more
Answered on 8/08/12, 6:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in United Kingdom