Legal Question in Insurance Law in United Kingdom

Flood damage

A friend asked my son who is a plumber by trade

to remove a radiator from the bedroom whilst they

decorated.

He said he would do it as a favour and for a friend.

He completed the job on the Friday and everything

was ok. They went away on the Saturday. The

friends dad called round on the Sat and everything

was ok, but when they returned after the weekend

the radiator cap had burst. Now it is not clear

wether the dad had fiddled with the cap or what.

Anyway they are claiming for a new kitchen, floor

and ceiling and a complete fitted kitchen. The

insurance company are saying my son is liable

for 20,000. As he did not charge them for the job

and was just doing it as a friend is he liable?


Asked on 11/23/01, 12:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sean Wilken 39 Essex St

Re: Flood damage

In tort, yes he is unless the other person's actions were the cause of the flood.

Read more
Answered on 11/23/01, 12:12 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in United Kingdom