Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Utah

Is a license of a patent, for a particular field of use, considered a sale of intellectual property?

Asked on 2/15/14, 8:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.

No, a license is a grant of a right to use, with ownership residing in the original owner of the patent. A sale of a patent divests the owner of all rights of ownership, which is transferred to the buyer.

Read more
Answered on 2/16/14, 7:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Utah