Legal Question in Appeals and Writs in Virginia

Can a judge deny you the option of a surety bond and require a cash bond on a civil appeal in Virginia? Appeal is on an unlawful detainer case in which the landlord has failed to make required repairs by housing authorities, non-compliance, and entering into a contract as a non-existing business entity.

Asked on 6/26/14, 7:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Yes, and typically the amount of cash required of the would be

appellant is the amount of the judgment that was entered against

him or her in the lower court.

Read more
Answered on 6/27/14, 7:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Appeals and Writs questions and answers in Virginia