Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Virginia

Under Chapter 7 bankruptcy, when filing a Virginia homestead exemption as a couple living together with 3 dependents, can both husband and wife each claim $500 per dependent making each have $6500 of claimed property amount? or are the dependents allowed to be claimed by only one debtor?

Asked on 1/06/11, 6:44 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.

The dependents can be claimed by only one debtor (or split), but not all 3 to each.

Read more
Answered on 1/11/11, 7:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Virginia