Legal Question in Consumer Law in Virginia

Is a venue legally obligated to original written agreement terms if a check was cashed but no contract was signed?

Last August I received a quote from a venue and I paid a deposit after agreeing on a date; the check was cashed in August 2016. Just recently she publicly threatened and slandered me on my FB event page saying I had no right to that date and that she scheduled a contracted wedding the same date. She claimed she never received a check and that I already did my event, etc. After some private communication and apology for double booking and getting her details wrong, she accused me of lying about the scope of my event and wanted to quadruple the original price. I sent her emailed proof that I was very clear about our group and event plans and she even approved. She then 'lowered' the price she quadrupled, but it is still more than her original quote.

So my question is, is she obligated to adhere to the original quote since I have emails proving she agreed to everything (price, date, group 'type') originally and cashed my check? It isn't a written contract but it is a written agreement?

Asked on 6/12/17, 7:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Yes, could well be if you have accurate documentary evidence, i.e., these emails that support

your position. (This is my opinion.)

Read more
Answered on 6/15/17, 8:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Virginia