Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

I live in Virginia, and have received a Warrant in Debt for a valid medical bill that I do owe.

A debt collector purchased it, and I set up a payment plan with them and made my first payment on Feb 1st, 2018, asked them to send me monthly reminders (statements), and never received anything in March, so it slipped my mind.

Per the summons (which I have not been officially served, only mailed a copy from the plaintiff's attorney), they filed on March 05th, 2018 - a mere 4 days after the 2nd payment was due. Also the amount is more than what was owed.

I don't have a problem paying, I just want to know how to settle outside of court, have the case dismissed, and it not show on my credit report.

Most importantly, I CANNOT have this on my credit.

Asked on 4/03/18, 5:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Contact the plaintiff's attorney and explain the circumstances you've described and your

desire to settle this matter along the lines you've suggested.

Office Tel. (703) 838-5577

Read more
Answered on 4/05/18, 8:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia