Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

I have a buy, sell, or possess over half ounce less than 5 pounds of marijuana charge headed to grand jury. I was wondering what the discretionary sentencing guidelines are considering I have 2 convictions of causing a juvenile to assist in distribution of marijuana back in 1996, I also had a misdemeanor conviction of marijuana less than 1 gram in 1996 also. I did 2 years prison time on each felony conviction ran concurrently . I have only 2 other misdemeanor convictions on my record on a assault n battery and the other a dui n the neighboring state of west va. I never had any juvenile arrest or convictions. I'm 39 years old never married, have had my own cleaning business and worked part time for the same employer for well of 5 years straight. I would like to know what kind of sentence the guidelines would call for???

Asked on 9/29/11, 6:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

sheryl shane sheryl shane, attorney at law

You should have an attorney for felony. Either hire one or see if you qualify for public defender. I would find it unbelievable that the court would have you proceed this far without one. If you have an attorney, I would not interfere with that relationship. In addition, one would be crazy to figure guidelines for you without more information. Guidelines are only discretionary too. Not all judges follow them. There are also alternatives to jail time, which may be possible. Good luck. Attorney Sheryl Shane. Web:

Read more
Answered on 10/01/11, 3:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia