My husband received a 6 month mandatory sentence for assault on law enforcement in the state of VA. We were told by our lawyer he would have do to 85-89% of the 6 months. He received a release date of 12-18-13 and was not released yesterday. Later in the day he was told he had to do 100% putting him at Jan 11. The reason he was given was that it was a "mandatory" 6 months. Is this correct?
1 Answer from Attorneys
This is correct.
Under Virginia statute 18.2-57 (C), a conviction for assaulting an officer as defined in subsection (F) is categorized as a Class 6 Felony and it is punished by a minimum of 6 months confinement.
Related Questions & Answers
Do police station breathalyzer machines automatically print out breath test result... Asked 12/16/13, 9:02 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Do a person, or a defendant of a D U I have the rights to see the record of... Asked 12/16/13, 11:10 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
How many times can a murder charge be nolle prossed? Asked 12/13/13, 9:28 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Can a person be charged for grand larceny if they use money from a joint savings... Asked 12/13/13, 7:32 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Can a felon legally own a compound bow in virginia Asked 12/10/13, 11:48 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law